expander pellets

sagalout

Reaction score
I know this has been done before but I wonder if anyone has anything new to add.

I am new to expander pellets, and after struggling with their fagility I did some research on the interweb this weekend. I discovered that I had been making them wrong. I put them in the pump with the water, created the vacum, and never drained them so they where very mushy by the end of the day :eek:.

So yesterday I tried 3 ways of preparing them.
1. Plain pellet and water, did the pump thing, left for 20 minutes, drained, dabbed with a bit of paper towel, put in the fridge overnight.
2. Jelly, tesco's 7p jelly (don't worry I only used half of it so it wasn't to expensive in the end :)), half the jelly in 6 fluid oz of boiling water stir till disolved, let it cool for 5 mins, did the pump thing, 20 minutes later drained them put them in a large plastic bag and laid them flat in the fridge overnight.
3. Gelatine, sainburys 69p for 6 sachets (enough for 6 pints), used half a sachet to 6 fl oz water, added two desert spoons of liquidised trout pellet. Then as per the jelly mix.

Results
All pellets much better. Gelatine the toughest, although I wont use the liquidised pellet again, everything got a bit to heavily coated, so I shall only use liquid flavourings in future. The ones done in jelly hook well but the jelly didn't set as well as the gelatine.

Anyone got any other ways to make hookable pellets?

Last edited:

Stealph Viper

Reaction score
Hello Sagalout,

Is this how you make your expander pellets ??

http://www.pleasurefishing.com/html/expanderpellets.htm

http://www.dynamitebaits.com/index.php?id=919

I too have never tried them before, i prefer to buy the Hookable Pellets and Loose feed hard pellets soaked in water or just dry depending on where and how i am fishing.