I have purchased Stotz sizes 8 to13. I wish to set up pole floats size
4x1
4x18
1.5g
4x14
0.5g
4x12
This is printed on the float body.
These stotz are only tiny. Do I put loads on in a bulk or do I use shot as well.
Should I use olivettes and if so I have the following questions.
Olivettes are pear shaped. Is the narrow part to the top or bottom. If hypothetically I have a 1g float do I use a 1g olivette or what.
I appreciate that there are many questions here but I am a newbie to the po,e and need the advice. Thanks

Graham Whatmore

Reaction score
It depends on how you are fishing what stots you use as droppers i.e. on the drop you want them spread out but fishing on the bottom you only need 2 or 3 droppers the rest is your olivette. On the drop you may be better just using shot plus stotz so you can move them about as conditions dictate, the object is to have the bait falling slowly through the water. I suggest you use those olivettes that the line goes thru the centre secured by a piece of thin cane pushed up from the base which is fat bit down though they don't always have a fat and thin bit. I would only use olivettes with floats of 1gm or more personally but thats my choice because it gives me flexibilty to move them around.

Use shot from size 6 up and stotz from size 8 down and I wouldn't use the very small ones either, maybe a 12 as a telltale and then a couple of 10's - 8's - 6 et al.

Last edited:

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
Olivettes are pear shaped. Is the narrow part to the top or bottom. If hypothetically I have a 1g float do I use a 1g olivette or what.

The narrow part goes towards the pole tip, the bulbous part towards the hooklength.

If using a 1g float, then an olivette of slightly less than the full 1g and the necessary 'dust' shot to properly balance the float.