Hello please read

bobbyf77

Reaction score
Hello please read, regarding Mitchell Reels

I am a new member to the Forum,

I am an avid Mitchell collector and service mitchell reels so if anybody wants there reel servicing please pm me also if you want to ask questions about your reels please pm me

Regards

Mitchell man

Last edited:

bobbyf77

Reaction score
You can't beat using, i have been servicing them for 3 years now and have most parts in stock. :)

Rickrod

Reaction score
Hello Mitchellman and welcome to fm

Xplorer1

Reaction score
Mitchellman - I'm having a muck out and have 2 410's, about 10 spools and a bag of spares: if you'd like to acquire them, PM me with an offer.

Cheers...Neil

Bluenose

Reaction score
Welcome to the site mate, they're a decent bunch here.

Can you tell me why the original Mitchell Match was later replaced by that monstrosity which weighed about 2 stone, and why it was that Mitchell reels just seemed to disappear from the shelves almost overnight?

Not having a dig, just wondering what happened.

bobbyf77

Reaction score
Hello Ec,

With regards to why the Mitchell Match was replaced, was due to times moving on and the weight issue is beyond me you would have to ask the lads at mitchell sports. And Mitchell reels disappeared from the shelves quickly, in 1977 garcia had to sell the majority of there stock in 'mitchell' back to Ets Carpona & Pons and the primary focus was placed back on selling Mitchells but it was to late, on August 10 1978 garcia the main distributor for the Mitchell reel declared Bankruptcy. Restrucuting the distribution of the Mitchell reel was ineviatable.

So this is why mitchells quickly dissappeared

Regards

Mitchellman

Last edited:

preston96

Reaction score
WOw......the history of Mitchells would make great reading in an article.

Anyone up to it? i for one would be very interested.

preston96

Reaction score

Bluenose

Reaction score
Hello Paul,