BIG Carp! What bait?

S

Scott Rotchell

I have been fishing now for about 5 years and i am only 13, when i say BIG Carp i don't mean baby 15 pounders i mean 30-40-50 pounds, get my drift. I useually try hair rigging boiley or sweetcorn, do you have any other suggestions for me?? I would be imensly greatful for your ideas, thanks

Stuart Dennis

Reaction score
Relax Scott, don't be too eager to beat your personal best all the time and learn to enjoy what you catch. Get more experience under your belt and get good at what you do for the moment. I've seen too many anglers chase the ace and end up feeling frustrated that they got the big fish to early in their fishing career only to be left chasing the impossible.
If the point of you stating that you’ve been fishing for five years is to prove your experience, then I can only derive naivety from your posting as the very notion that just adjusting your bait will catch bigger fish is ludicrous. Many 40’s and 50’s have been caught on the simplest of baits such as bread and sweet corn. Try to focus on locating where the bigger fish haul up and start following their feeding habits. In fact, you might want to try visiting your regular venue without a rod and reel a few times to garner natural environment info. Only the less experienced will be to eager to put their rods out first, which are you?

A

andrew jackson