First Winter

M

Mark Johnson

This being my first summer of fishing, i am starting to think about the winter. With it now fast approaching and having last weekend got absolutley drenched for the first time and having the worst day/nights fishing so far, i am thinking is this just going to be a summer sport. Will the bites keep coming during the winter?

Your advice would be much appreciated,

Complete Novice

T

The Monk

winter fishing can be very rewarding, but it can also be very bleak, the first thing you need to do is get yourself kitted out with plenty of warm clothing and ideally find someone who has some experience of winter fishing, plenty of warm drinks, as a general rule look towards the afternoons on still waters and check out the winter pools on rivers, dont use as much ground bait and move your bait around frequently, some waters fish very well in the winter and others just die, so check out your local press especially match results, should give you some indication of the action you can expect, the key to it all though is persistance.

Colin Brett

Reaction score
dear mark i think you should stick to one or two lakes in the winter and remember where you were catching fish from in the summer months carp mostly stay near their summer feeding spots and try the margins and under over hanging trees they love the snags i hope this helps you out this winter tight lines colin brett.

D

Dave Rothery

Dont be afraid to fish in shallow water, especially in high (air) pressure.

D

Dave Slater

Mark,