Fishing in Ireland

N

Neil Higgins

I'd love to spend a week in Ireland later in the year with a friend or two to do some serious fishing and unwinding. Having never been before, I'd be grateful for any suggestions on where to go, places to stay and just what sort of tackle and bait I should be taking along. As those who have been can image it's a little overwhelming!!!

Thanks

D

Dave O'L

What do you fancy Neil?
I'm not an Irish expert but Sea is OK but can be patchy. Kerry is good cos the boats can't trawl there (but the ladies can, bum bum).
Salmon/sea trout are possible & it's not expensive in West Cork. Where I go, Sept is the best month.
Trout & coarse all have their areas but I've not really had too much experience. Lakes in W. Cork have small wild brownies & good walking & scenery to get there.
Lee in reputidly has good bream & of coarse (ho ho) the Shannon.

Other things to consider is, if it's just mates I presume you don't have others ie family to consider?
Do you want a variety of fishing, night life, views etc when not fishing?

P

Philip Cadman

Hi neil,
Ive been to ireland quite regularly
stopping in the cavan area, fishing mainly loughs for bream,although there are plenty of roach and tench, i have founed prebaiting
is essential with caster, sweetcorn and plenty of groundbait all of which can be purchased at your lodge.I stayed at sui muire in ballinamore where the host has a good knowledge of the area and there is always anglers to help. hope trhis helps you
bye...

GrahamM

Managing Editor
Reaction score
Best Irish holidays I've ever had were on a cruiser on Lough Ree and the river Shannon in that area. Mobile luxury bivvy, no drink/cruising laws (moored up of course!) no tackling/untackling each day, a girl in every 'port' (in my younger days of course!) and massive bags of fish to the point where I had to stop fishing to have a rest.

Haven't been for a few years so I don't know if the fishing is any different on Ree.

P

Phil Hatton