New Boy on the forum

B

Barry Kneller

Hiya all

This is my first posting on this forum - just bought myself some fly fishing kit & looking for a water in south Essex where I can make a fool of myself for not too much dosh. The best value trouting I've managed to find so for is Hanningfield res, ?13 for a 4 fish limit which is very good but the venue is a bit daunting for a (more or less) total novice. Chigboro & Green Oaks are both nice venues but at around ?30 quid for a days fishing are a bit expensive for what amounts to a days practise.
If anyone has any alternative suggestions I'd love to hear them.
Also if there is anyone in the area willing to show a new boy the ropes it would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Barry

M

Mark Frame

you could always give walthamstow a try although its a ressie its a smallish water perhaps the size of some of the smaller still waters you are trying. I think smaller still waters are more expensive than the ressies just because ressies tend to stock fish say 2lb whereas still waters stock with fish say upto 10lb and therfore need to keep the revenue coming to continue stocking fish of this size.
prehaps its anglers with their need to catch big fish that keeps the price so inflated

oh by the way
welcome to the site
just keep thrashing the water!!

Alan Bowles

Reaction score
I certainly have an alternative to paying ?30 to practise and thats to go along to a park or field and practise your casting for 1/2 hour every day until you're confident that your ?30 is well spent. Also spend your ?30 on a casting lesson it will be be the best investment you make. I'm sure hanningfield lodge could put you onto someone. never be afraid to ask for help cos it saves a lot of time and effort in the long run. Welcome to the gang and remember nothing wothwhile is ever easy.
cheers
Al.

B

Barry Kneller

Thanks for the response lads, never even considered Walthamstow - I'll check it out.