Hook Lengths

Reaction score
As a beginner I'm trying to get a better understanding of hook lengths. How long should they be? why would you lengthen or shorten them? and is there any guidelines as to the differential, if thats the right word, between main line and hook-length?

I've been looking at some ready made carp rigs in the tackle shop which use a 12lb + braid, this seemed excessive to me. Would you have to use a very strong main line or can you have a weaker main line?

Richard Farrow

Reaction score
David what sort of fishing are you talking about and what are your target fish, also what size fish are you targeting.

Reaction score
I'll be course fishing at commercial fisheries so I guess a bit of everything. Does the type of fish make a difference to the hooklength?

Richard Farrow

Reaction score
Yes it depends on whether you are float fishing or ledgering and if the latter whether its a paternoster rig, bolt rig, free running or method. But whatever rig it is your hooklength should be a lower breaking strain than your mainline, the reason being if you get broken off you don't have a fish trailing yards of line or lead around that could tether the fish and kill it. Tell me how you intend to ledger and the type of venue and stock and line bs and I'll offer what advice I can. Also there on the sight several sites about rigs.

Reaction score
I'll be using the simplest rigs as I'm only starting. I will be using a float and a feeder rig, probably at Woodlands, Thirsk. i was intrested due to seeing some rigs in magazines that use a braid with a much higher BS for the hook length.

I'll be using 5lb line, possibly 8lb. I've been told that the venue has a good stock of carp.

Richard Farrow

Reaction score