New fishing spot in Northants - Research

Mr Researcher

Reaction score
I am a researcher working on behalf of the Rockingham Forest Trust. They are handling the development of the Stanwick Lakes site on the A45 near Rushden.

Once Hansen move out in a few months, the plan is to create a new country park area.

One aspect of this involves possibly opening up the old Railway line to Thrapston as a Right of Way for Horses Bikes and walkers.

Obviously the area also contains access to the River Nene and 5 lakes.

Basically any individuals or groups who would make use of the site, please help to shape its future by telling us the issues and facilities that would make this an attractive venue for a days angling.

Many thanks in anticipation

D

Dave Oates

one of the main things is easy access, no one seems to want to walk to their fishing spot!
or is it because your car will be stolen or broken into?
the hanson site is large get them to put good roads in before they pull out,he can afford it?
also could the environment agency do a fish survey for you. you will attract more anglers if they know there is something to catch. and may help with advice , restocking etc.
hope this helps.....

Mr Researcher

Reaction score
Yes it does !

The more people can tell us about 'ideal' features hopefully the better the site will be!

Thanks

S

Sascha Welsch

Call me suspicous Mr Researcher, but your question and motive would contain far more weight if you didn't hide your name and full reason for being on this site. As far as I'm aware Rockingham have no interest in fishing or its promotion and if you do, it would be good to hear your views on the development of the sport on the new site and of any plans already given the green light. There are a number of contributors to this site (who live in the area too) who would only be too willing to help if they knew a little more about you and your plans.