Lights on floats

rick mullins

Reaction score
Will a lighted float scare away the carp when night fishing? Is there a particular colour light that works best?
Rick.

S

Stuart Bullard

Rick, hopefully this web site would never consider any question such as yours stupid, because basically, if you ask a genuine question about fishing, that is fine by me (us?).

To answer your question. I went fishing last summer with the dad of one of my sons mates. He hadn't really done much fishing before (although I am no expert). So, I set up my bivvy, pods, buzzers etc etc. He set up his umbrella (not even a proper fishing one) and proceeded to set up his float fishing rod with a "lighted float". Eventually I crashed out (with his son and mine in the bivvy), while he was still sat out all night float fishing.

He caught 5, I caught 3.

OK, I was a bit fresher in the morning, but in my experience the answer is no!

G

goff dyer

I DONT THINK IT IS A STUPID Q, AS FOR THE LIGHT SCARING THE FISH. MANY YEARS AGO MYSELF AND A MATE USED TO NIGHTFISH A SMALL POOL IN A FIELD AT LYSWEN NEAR LANGORSE LAKE, ALL WE COULD AFFORD THOSE DAYS WAS FLOAT TACKLE. WE USED TO SEARCH ALL THE SHOPS FOR THE BIGGEST TORCH WE COULD FIND ESPECIALLY THE ONES WITH THE BIG SQUARE 6 VOLT BATTERIES. WE WOULD SIT ON OUR OLD BASKETS CAST OUT, TORCH WOULD BE ON THE FLOOR BETWEEN OUR LEGS SWITCH ON AND SEARCH FOR THE FLOAT WE USED TO CATCH LOADS OF WILDIES BETWEEN 2 AN 5LB. THE LIGHT CERTAINLY DID NOT BOTHER THEM.
P/S THOSE WERE THE DAYS.

alan strickland

Reaction score
I fished a local canal during late winter early spring,the water was crytal clear and around 2ft deep.fishing night`s using the green crack and shake beta lights got me an 11lb8oz mirror and a 4lb grass carp.given time i think they would steer well clear off them but not that many people float fish at night, especialy for carp..