night fishing

Paul Salters

Reaction score
Hi could any boady give me some advice on night fishing, what are the best lights for the bank, and for your bivvy, im thinking of getting, a fat boy mk11 wheel barrow, to carry all my gear, but as im new to night fishing, any help would be great, the bivvy im thinking of is a jrc sti twin skin 2 man, looks great for its price, thanks Paul

tinca taker

Reaction score
The most imortant thing you can get is a decent head torch without it you'll be knackered!! The next thing is comfort, without a good bed and sleeping bag you'll be tired and groggy and wont enjoy the experience.
A gas lantern is allways good for the bivvy, not only producing light but it also takes the chill out of the air.

tinca.

bigbass

Reaction score
Hi Paul im not sure about taking a gas lantern could be a bit dangerous inside a bivvy.
Go with a mate, take spare batteries.
Have a great time good luck.

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
but as im new to night fishing, any help would be great,

Think about the following:

You don't want to be cold, wet, hungry, thirsty or uncomfortable.

A good twin skinned bivvy, comfortable bedchair with a good quality sleeping bag and a thermal cover to go over it.

Plenty of layers of warm, dry clothing, and don't forget to position the bedchair as low as possible to reduce the (cold) air gap between the ground and your back. One layer under your back is worth two on top!

A good propane gas stove and a good supply of drinks, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and/or soup. Bacon butties on a cold morning are a great way to satrt the fishing for the day.

A small radio and earphones for entertainment in the wee small hours.

I use a Fox Halo bivvy light and a smaller table light on the bivvy table - more than enough light when needed. I aslo use those little chemical lights on the zippers on my bivvy so I can see them in the pitch dark.