Flourocarbon Leaders

R

Ron Clay

Since first using them 3 years ago I have been sold on fluorocarbon leaders. Thet turn almost invisible in the water and I'm convinced they have helped me catch a lot more trout. What do other think?

R

Rob Brownfield

I have used them for trout and carp for nearly five years now (got some from Japan ages ago) I like the newer ones, but I did find them a little too stiff for using with buzzers etc. Having said that, I was using 8lb line on a size 18 buzzer (Big fish u see)
The newer stuff is much better. I will carry on using the stuff.

A

Alan Roe

I have been using flourocarbon for tippets for around the last three years.
Like you both I am fairly convinced that they have lead to an imrovement in my catch rate.
They are particularly useful when the rivers are low and clear, the line sinks and I am sure that due to its refracive index being closer to water than other monofils it is that bit harder for fish to spot.
I am prepared to admit that the added confidence that using this stuff gives me is probably worth a fish or two as well!
So I will continue to use it......untill something better comes along that is !

R

Ron Clay

Alan that's much the same reason as I use it. What brand do you use? I have found Drennan, Sightfree & Uncle Jacks OK. There are some rubbish brands around of course that are not really fluorocarbon. the trick is to set light to it. If it burns with a flame - bin it. If the flame goes out when you remove the match, its the real stuff I just wish they would produce it with less shine

D

Denis Goulding

Yes they are good at time's,what BRANDS do use,some of the flourocarbon is absolutely terrible with knot's i have used most of them river and lakes,i am just wondering which ones have you settled with............................

GrahamM

Managing Editor
Reaction score
As a hooklength for floater fishing for carp I strip the fluoro gently through a piece of wire wool to remove the shine.