All Nighter

I

IAN HOBKIRK

I have just purchased a bivvy brollie and intend on doing a couple of all nighters on the Tidal Trent.

Can anybody give me any help on the dos and donts of fishing at night.

I have got pretty basic knowledge,and this is my first attempt at it, hopefully not my last.

The advice Kevin Brooks came up with is the one to heed i shall take note.

R

Ron Clay

It depends where you are fishing.

If you are fishing on the Tidal, as you are aware, the banks can be awful so you must take note of any obstructions that you could run into when it is dark.

Wear a head torch especially when you are playing a fish alone. The light doesn't scare the fish off at all. That's an old myth and your safety comes before any fish. In fact I have a tendency to believe that lights actually attract some species of fish.

On the Tidal Trent --- DON'T GO TO SLEEP!!

If you are awakened by a bite you just might fall in!!

Get a set of tide tables. There are some pretty big tides coming up in the next 2 months.

Sit well back from the river.

DON'T drink anything alcoholic. You need ALL your wits about you when you hook a double in the dark.

Preferably fish with a friend. Not with Barney though, he chucks into your swim..:eek:)

L

Les Clark

Get your bearing`s right while it`s light,i.e. oak tree,left far bank,ect,plus bivie up,far from the bank as you can,becouse if you have to dive out in the middle of the night,half asleep you may be disorientated,and you don`t want to end up in the trent.

I

IAN HOBKIRK

Theres more to this night fishing than meets the eye, some very useful hints.
indeed keep em coming.

Got one for you Ron get 4 spears(poles)stick them into the ground one at each corner of the car, and fasten a rope around them penning the car in the cows will walk around them.

R

Ron Clay

Ian, that is the best advice I have had for a long time for Trent barbellers.

After all you don't want to lose your no-claims bonus.