Vintage FIshing Tackle

Kevan Martin

Reaction score
Hi again all,

I was just wondering if there is anybody out there that has a collection of vintage tackle. Now call me sad ( await hello sad posts..... ) but I have been collecting old gear for a few years now. I get a great deal of pleasure looking up at a shelf full of aerials some in mint condition others in boxes etc. Does anybody have a collection not just of reels but of lures / rods etc. If so I am always looking to buy or swap items. Let me know.

R

Richard Drayson

Hi Kevan.

I'm not a great fan of vintage tackle but I do admire some of the craftsmanship that was used to make, not only reels, but rods as well.

I do own and use a Speedia centrepin reel though and also have a small collection of old plugs and spinners which I never use now. Examples include Heddon and South Bend.

For anyone interested, there is a vintage tackle fair in Romsey, Hants on Sunday 5th October.

I

IAN HOBKIRK

How much would you give for a Gregory lure with his name stamped on it Kevan?
Not for sale by the way just qurious.

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
Kevan,
I have a modest collection of cane rods and centrepins as well as a few lures and other accessories, but none for sale.

I have been meaning to put some decent pictures onto my web site for a long while, maybe on my September trip I'll find the time to take some worthy pictures.

Richard,
Why do "they" never seem to schedule vintage tackle fairs for the times when I am back in the UK.
Any information on similar events either between Sept 10th and Sept 22nd would be appreciated,

Alternatively, anything planned for November would be helpful in planning my next trip.

R

Ron Clay

I love to look at old tackle. I am old enough to remember silkworm gut hooklengths, Allcock's Model Perfect Hooks, Rods made from cane and greenheart, Starback wooden centrepin reels and of course, floats, handmade from bird quills and porcupine quills.