Learning to cast a fly

R

Ron Clay

This section of the web site has, I am sure given some of our members the urge to go and do some fly fishing. Robs piece on Pike on the fly was very good. However if you have never done it before, casting a fly properly takes great skill.

What do you think is the best way of aquiring that skill. Teach yourself or go to a qualified instructor.

Personally I was self taught but many years ago I met a guy called Jack Martin who gave me a couple of tips. From struggling to get 25 yards, I was then able to cast 35 yards within minutes.

So what's best - teach yourself or go to a pro?

R

Rob Brownfield

Ron, thanx for the thumbs up!
I taught myself after reading several library books on the subject. I am super accurate coz I started on tiny streams and had to drop dry flies in tiny pockets of water and cast between trees etc...but I do struggle with distance. I have a weak wrist (oi...behave...not because of that!) so a long or heavy rod causes me a problem. When using the heavier gear I tend to cast very "American", ie, with a very exadgerated arm movement. If I try a *UK* style cast my wrist gives in.

I had a lesson with Mr. Tomlinson...world record holder... who took one look at me and said...well..if it works...don't fix it..lol. On a good day I can get a full line out if its a 6 or 7 weight, but heavier, I struggle. I really must get my wrist sorted.

i am thinking of seeing a professional again though as i feel I could do better.

I think its like a golf swing, onece u have the basics, you can do it, but u need someone to point out where to improve.

R

Ron Clay

For your information Rob, you are on the right track. The British way of learning to cast is WRONG!!!