Drennan Avon Floats

Paul Holtom

Reaction score
I am fairly new to fishing and have been advised to get some Avon floats for river fishing. I got via mailorder a set of Drennan Avon's which look great but I am a little confused as how to rig them. I thought that they were designed to be set up like a stick float using rubbers, but the bottom end has a hole which would seem to suggest you set them up the same as a waggler. Can someone advise on how I should be using these floats.

B

Barry Edney

Hi Paul,

You're right, Avons are designed to be fished similar to stick floats. I don't bother threadling the line through the hole but fish them double rubber styley.

Your river probably has a fair bit of water pushing through at moment. In these conditions your Avons would probably be better than a stick. Bulk the shot about 18-24ins from hook with just one shot beneath the float to act as a depth gauge if the float slips up the line. Maybe a couple of No.4s below the bulk will really get that hook close to the bottom.

You could also do a search in the technique section at the top of this page for 'First Class Fishing' (I think thats what the series is called) You will get more in depth information there.

Hope this helps, Barry

Peter Jacobs

Staff member
Reaction score
Paul,

Rig your Avon floats the same as a stick float, i.e. with 3 rubbers, one above the body, one directly below the body and one in lieu of using the ring at the bottom.

Don't forget though, that it is a lot easier and safer to remove the bottom rubber when you need to move the float either up or down.

Hope this helps.

joel taylor

Reaction score
hi paul,

i've recently prchased the same floats to hopefully begin trotting my local river, i was hoping to get some hints and tips for holding back the float.

many thanks

Jt

chavender

Reaction score
Ilkeston ,derbyshire ,great britain ,earth ,The un