Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  4

Default Do older rod lose their strength?

I have shimano super ultrga match 390 the older one it the dark red`ish black colour I haven’t use it for a few years I think I bought the rod around 2000-2002 .it has been keep in it hard tube it was supplied with out of sunlight.
    Will carbon brake down or weaken?

Trust me I’m an Engineer

Blog Entries

Default Re: Do older rod lose their strength?

Anything that is continually flexed will loose some of its inherent stiffness, rods are no different.
    •The crow may be caged, but its thoughts are in the cornfield

Whether or not a rod softens over time depends largely on how much it is used and the resins used in the construction of the blank.
    It would be a pretty poor rod that got noticeably softer without actually being used. There's a fair chance that an older match rod might feel softer in comparison to a modern equivalent though.

If a rod does soften a little with use I don't think it's a huge ammount. I've use d a normark avenger a hell of a lot over 12yrs and it has been bent dramatically on lots of sessions and still seems fine.