A new reel and a puzzle

wumfi

Reaction score
Got a new cheap Chinese reel. As a beginner I’ve no experience about whether it’s rubbish or not. It actually feels ok. Nice smooth action, not too heavy etc.

It was advertised as a dual-braking system or something. To be honest, I bought it simply because it was first one that fitted my budget.

Herein lies the puzzle. There are two parts that I’m unfamiliar with. It has the normal clutch type bit on the main spool (I know what that does), but there is also another twisty bit on the back. Also, there is a switch that, when activated, stops the reel on the wind-in. It doesn’t stop it with a lot of force though, and another gentle wind-in will release it. I’ve attached a pic with the two bits circled. The blue circle it the switch, and the red circle is... well I’m sure that’s obvious!

Any ideas?

Ta

e3c6ee9043a01df3eaef24e20edaba97.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited:

ian g

Reaction score
The blue circle is a baitrunner , when it is set line can be taken by a fish with the bail arm engaged , usually used when ledgering for strong fish like carp or barbel , so you don't have your rod dragged in . The red circle looks like a rear drag knob to adjust the drag tension when playing a fish .

Hope this helps

sam vimes

Reaction score
It's a baitrunner type reel. The knob at the front is the main drag. The knob at the rear (red) is the baitrunner tension which comes into play when the baitrunner feature is engaged using the lever (blue).

mikench

Reaction score
It looks like a baitrunner. The front drag operates when the baitrunner ie freespool is off and the rear knob sets the rate at which, when in freespool mode, the fish can take line before you start to wind in and thus stopping the freepool facility.

wumfi

Reaction score