Conservation Corner

Molehill

Reaction score
I am coming in late to this, but I believe there is zero chance of otter control (in whatever form) being licensed. No political party whether in power or opposition is ever going to put otter control in their manifesto or even mention it in public, if they want a way to lose a few million voters that would be it.
The worrying thing is that it has again been brought up and possibly only a matter of time before it makes national news in some way - and I guarantee that it will not result in sympathy for anglers from the public - we risk losing a lot of brownie points in the eyes of the non angling population.
Whatever ones personal thoughts on otters, we won't ever get a cull and we best learn to live with them.

John Bailey

Feature Writer
Reaction score
Dad.jpg

Fishing with Dad is fine, but it doesn’t beat doing it for yourself as a child

Conservation Corner: Right to Roam - Part 1

Partly because I was a teacher for many years, and partly because of my two TV series 'Fishing In The Footsteps Of Mr Crabtree', I have been asked a thousand times over the years about how you get modern children into fishing. There’s a quite obvious answer I feel, but it does not necessarily fit well with present-day neuroses.

I am reading a quite exhilarating book, called Wayfinding, by Michael Bond. It’s subtitled The Art and Science Of How We Find and Lose Our Way, but it is Chapter 2 that fascinates me, and which is so relevant to my first paragraph. Right To Roam talks about how children develop their spatial awareness, and it is a damning indictment of how we have been treating kids for decades. These are the most dramatic moments in this revealing chapter.