Piking around Liverpool

John Prendergast

Reaction score
Hello,

Can anyone give me any info on Piking within about a 40mile radius of Liverpool?
Locations, methods etc.

I have never seriously gone after pike before but I feel like giving it a go.

I would be using carp rods for it and I tend to lean towards wanting to deadbait/livebait for them, rather than lure fishing.

Any advice greatfully recieved.

Piking on rivers seems particularly attractive.

John

J

Jack Pike

Give me a shout when you are ready John I could give you a few pointers

E

EC

Likwise here John, the Bridgewater Canal is a good a place to start as any, I can point you in the direction of a few decent areas mate!!

John Prendergast

Reaction score
Many thanks lads,

I am up for going pike fishing pretty much any time.

As I said, I have zero experience with pike aprt from one about 12lb, years ago from the Dane which basically hung itself on a dace livebait I threw out aftwer I saw it worrying the shoal of dace I was emptying from the river.

I probably have equipment that will cover the job apart from terminal tackle, but I have very little idea about methods and locations etc.

I do realise that piking isnt something to try without the right knowledge for reasons of being humane to the fish and also in order to catch any in the first place,

John

Richard Baker 4

Reaction score
John,

The leeds Liverpool canal contains a good head of Pike. Nothing too huge but I suspect its better to learn on the smaller ones first. A few years ago we used to regularly catch Jacks on lobworms around the Maghull area. Read the match reports from the canal for areas that are producing good caches of silver fish. These are the pegs to head for as the pike won't be far behind. A roach deadbait on a simple running ledger rig should do the trick. Make sure you use a decent length wire trace.

Cheers

Rich

J

John McLaren