The Tench Timetable 00:01

J

John Bailey

The great advance made this century for tench fanatics is that we are now allowed to fish for them before the traditional Sixteenth. Prior to this, for decades the very best tench fishing was actually over before the season kicked in and we could get at them. I have been guiding for tench for twenty years now, and I can honestly say I have no qualms about this. If I felt I was in any way putting them at risk I would stop at once. Yes, tench do begin to develop spawn during May, but much of this is at its peak and is shed well after June 16th itself. In fact, most years I have seen tench spawning most energetically in July, and even as late as September.

Enoka and JB with April tench

Anglers love tench. They are our quintessential English fish of the spring and summer and what I am trying to do is provide an ongoing guide to how I see tench fishing in the 2020s, built on my experience of the species over many years. I will provide a chapter every two or three days, hopefully building up to a really handy reference by the time tench are truly beginning to feed in early April. Please feel free to comment and add your ideas too… as I know you most certainly will.

#1 TENCH LOCATION

Vital, of course, and there are loads of considerations to be taken into account. First, in most parts of the country, most tench fishing today is carried out on pits: half a century ago this was not the case, and estate lakes, ponds and pools were the typical venue that Mr Crabtree would have targeted. There are many reasons for this shift, but as otters are a factor and I am not being contentious here, I’ll ask you to accept what I say and move on!