Best winter barbel bait?

Jim Crosskey 2

Reaction score
So wondering what the general consensus is on best barbel baits at this time of year. Seems that some will stick with a pellet/ groundbait approach - I just wonder though is this too (for want of a better word) "rich" for this fish? Would maggots/ casters + hemp be a better bit, or are you just inviting hoards of smaller fish to pester you? Big lump of meat?

(my favourite barbel bait at this time of year is probably a lump of cheesepaste. Fishing with lighter tackle. The barbel never want to know, but some of the accidental chub catches I've had have been stunning :wh)

tiinker

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I would think that pellets rule from what I have heard I love to use lobs all season though myself. Each to his own.:)

theartist

Reaction score
I'd use maggotts but then I'm a one trick pony most the time. Small fish shouldn't be a problem this time of year.

sampras43

Reaction score
I'm no expert but I would assume you're talking about smelly baits such as meat etc for this time of year, especially if the river's cloudy. Pellet's are really summer baits imo, although you could try a large halibut hair-rigged.

Smelly or visual...same for chub.

nicepix

Reaction score
If you are talking about winter barbel baits then worm is my number one choice followed by luncheon meat. Pellets seem to work better in summer in my experience.

barbelboi

Reaction score
Very much with Nicey here, lob worms or flavoured luncheon meat for me too. I also carry some shelf life boilies which can work well on the day.

john step

Reaction score
Dead maggots and hemp work well in winter on the tidal Trent.

peter crabtree

AKA Simon, 1953 - 2022 (RIP)
Reaction score
Let's face it they'll eat anything if...
They're in your swim.
They are feeding.

The best bait is the one you catch on...

nicepix

Reaction score
Let's face it they'll eat anything if...
They're in your swim.
They are feeding.