Advice on gear/setups/styles

jjekland

Reaction score
Hi all,

I went fishing last week for the first time in about 9 years and am super excited to be getting back out and fishing.

Unfortunately, I have little knowledge as 13 year old me did whatever my dad set me up on and that was usually basic.

So currently I'm making do with a 12" leeda carp rod and spitfire (assume it's a carp reel?) 50RD. Equipment from when I was about 12!

I wanna get into mainly just course fishing for carp or tench and mainly will likely fish in match lakes and carp using floats.

I can make a standard float setup and fish that (though I still don't really know what I'm doing other than casting out and waiting/hoping for the best) Though I watched a load of videos today and saw that most setups use like hooks to nylon and main line/hookline if anyone could explain that? Usually I would just chuck a float on, some splitshots and then bang a hook on the end of the line and away I go :eek:mg: Caught a couple nice little mirror carp last week like this, but the guy just down from me was pulling out much larger fish and a lot more frequent so I feel like I'm probably doing something wrong/too basic haha

Guess I'm just looking for advice on what rod, reel, landing net and unhooking mat to get and general gear for fishing for carp I guess anywhere from 5-15lbs and maybe heavier in future.

Also have been looking at pellet waggler fishing and would like to give that a go to change it up from basic float fishing.

So yeah, sorry I'm a big ambiguous, but it's a big world I and don't really know what I'm doing, so any advice would be ideal!

I probably have between £100-200 to spend on a rod and reel at the moment, but ideally would like to get a decent landing net with that budget too!

Cheers,

Jordan Ekland

flightliner

Reaction score
A Shakespeare pellet waggler(11 foot) would be a good rod to add to your collection, £29-99 -a really useful bit of kit.

jjekland

Reaction score